UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Newbie jcms

Isim crashing Windows 7 VM

Jump to solution

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting here.

I have a 13'' 2010 Macbook Pro and I'm running Windows 7 x64 under Parallels. Everytime I try to run a VHDL test bench, I get "The simulator has terminated in an unexpected manner". This is happening with every project, under 12.3, 12,4 and 13.1. I uninstalled and re-install 3 or 4 times. None of my friends with a similar set up are getting this error. Is there a simple fix for that?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: Isim crashing Windows 7 VM

Jump to solution

I'm running Win7 64-bit, I7 processor, ISE13.1 full version. My design consists of over 1k lines of verilog, including coregen modules.

I was getting the same uninformative message and an isim crash when just a day ago it was working fine. After a painful process of elimination, I found a bug in my verilog code in which the nonexistent 9th bit of an 8 bit vector was being used. When I fixed the bug, the simulator starting working again. Just to be sure, I added a similar bug to a different file and the simulator started to crash again.

If you are like me and can't justify another ISE upgrade, be aware that the simulator does not deal with certain king of bugs well. That kind of defeats the purpose of a simulator but hey, it's still a lot cheaper than Modelsim...

13 Replies

Jump to solution

Same problem.

In my case: Windows 7, processor i7, ISE 13.2