UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor bojan90
Visitor
10,494 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

[NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution

Hello,

I'm having an issue, with error from subject.

 

I've compiled HDL libaries from ISE GUI for NCSIM, and then runned simulation from NCSIM, and I have got this error several times.

Also, my Compilation log summarizes 3 errors in Unisim, 2 error in simprim, 1 error in xilinxcorelib, and 184 in edk (I'm not using edk), all these in vhdl, verilog libraries doesn't have any errors. And i got only warning sign in process tab.

I'm using 14.1 Incisive and 14.7 ISE. 

Also I'm trying to run simulation with -irun, is this even possible, or I'd have to use commands as specified in ARs?

Thank you in advance

Bojan

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
18,640 Views
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution
Can you try to check if the ncsim environment is properly set. Is the file cds.lib along with cdsvhdl.lib files present at the location: 12.20.016/tools.lnx86/inca/files? If not then you might have to re-install the tool and set the environment properly.
Regards,
Debraj
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,490 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution

Hello Bojan,

 

From the error message, I think the issue is: tool was unable to see the compiled libraries.

Try copying the cds.lib file to ISE project directory or to present working directory. So that when you run the command: irun, it will pick the compiled libraries.

 

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
10,485 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution

Hello @bojan90,

 

Make sure you are using a supported version of Incisive with ISE 14.7. Check the following release notes at page number for supported third party tools with ISE 14.7.

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx14_7/irn.pdf

 

 

Thanks,

Syed

 

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
10,480 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution

Hi @bojan90,

 

Also check Appendix B at page number 163 in the below UG for simulating Xilinx designs in Incisive simulator.

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx14_7/sim.pdf

 

Thanks,
Syed

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor bojan90
Visitor
10,475 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution
Hello @syedz

In compatible third party tool table, there is only 12.20.016, is it possible, that newer tool can't simulate design?
0 Kudos
Scholar pratham
Scholar
10,449 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution

@bojan90 Yes, User guide shows the lowest version limit. I don't think so there will be any problem using updated version of the tool

-Pratham

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor bojan90
Visitor
10,446 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution

I've made another design (AND circuit), done everything from begining, and I have the same mistake again. 

0 Kudos
Visitor bojan90
Visitor
10,441 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution
Also when I do compXLib compilation, I get this error:ncvhdl_p: *F,NOLSTD: logical library name STD must be mapped to a design library [11.2].
0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
18,641 Views
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution
Can you try to check if the ncsim environment is properly set. Is the file cds.lib along with cdsvhdl.lib files present at the location: 12.20.016/tools.lnx86/inca/files? If not then you might have to re-install the tool and set the environment properly.
Regards,
Debraj
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor bojan90
Visitor
10,424 Views
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: [NCSIM][ISE] Unit (VCOMPONENTS) not found in library (UNISIM)

Jump to solution
Yes they are...

I've solved it, it is necessary to have INCLUDE $INCISIV141/tools.lnx86/inca/files/cds.lib

in cds.lib when you start your CompXLib, and then everything works...

Thank you guys :)
0 Kudos