cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
955 Views
Registered: ‎01-28-2018

Post implementation simulation fails

Hi,

 

I suddenly face a problem with the VIVADO simulator that I unfortunateley cannot fix. (VIVADO 2017.4)

 

It is a strange thing because the simulation worked many times before and now it fails every time.

 

After starting the simulation, the message in attachment SimBug1 appears, then SimBug2 and so on.

 

Basically it says "simulation snapshot TB_BTC_Module_time_impl
Could not remove the obj directory: boost::filesystem::remove: Das Verzeichnis ist nicht leer: "xsim.dir/TB_BTC_Module_time_impl/obj" ("Das Verzeichnis ist nicht leer" means "The directory is not empty").

 

When I look into this dir with the file explorer, it _IS_ empty.

In earlier issues like this I removed the dir manually and the simulation succeeded, but now not longer. I tried to reset all simulations using the appripriate buttons in the simulation menu, no result. I tried to delete all subdirs below sim_1, no result.

 

Any idea how to fix this??

 

Norbert

 

SimBug1.jpg
SimBug2.jpg
SimBug3.jpg
SimBug4.jpg
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
943 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Hi @norbertreifschneider

 

Can you try launching Vivado from tcl console running below command?

xsim  <project_path>/project_xsim.sim/sim_1/behav/testbench_behav

 

Also try changing the project location if it helps you.

 

Regards

Rohit

 

 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
Highlighted
930 Views
Registered: ‎01-28-2018

Hi Rohit,

 

thanks for your reply.

 

What is "<project_path>/project_xsim.sim/sim_1/behav/testbench_behav"??

 

First of all, after deleting all prevoius simulation results, a dir "behav" does not exist. So I ran a behav simulation again which works perfectly (like before).

 

Then, all my resource files (including test benches) reside within the top level dir and not in some dark subdirs like ProjName.srcs\sources_1\... what never has been a problem.

 

My top level project dir is "VCU108" and all my resource files reside within this dir.

 

When I now follow your proposal and run

 

xsim TB_BTC_Module_behav

 

I get the error message

 

ERROR: [Simtcl 6-30] Unable to locate simulation image at 'xsim.dir/TB_BTC_Module_behav/xsimk.exe'

 

I do not know how the program creates the full path to xsim.dir but the rest of the path to xsimk.exe exists.

 

As I mentioned before, the problem only arises when I run the post implmentation timing simulation, behavioral works.

 

As a next try, I copied the whole project dir into a new one and startet the post implementation timing simulation, the problem persists.

 

As a next step, I created a new simulation set (sim_2) and startet a new simulation, the problem persists.

 

I now have to work on other projects and come back to this issue later.

 

Regards

 

Norbert

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
276 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2017

I had a similar issue.  I traced the cause back to an external editor I was using, that was somehow preventing Vivado from deleting a file, even though I did not open that file in my external editor.  However, if I cleared the recently opened files (which were in the same directory), things worked again.  Also closing the external editor before launching the simulation worked.  The problem seems to be the external editor placing an OS hold of some sort of every file in a directory, and not letting vivado delete the file.  In my case, it was a log file.  I do not know if you might have a similar situation, but it is close enough to mine I thought I would share.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
274 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

On etrick in similar situatoins,

  is to clear down the folder of all but source files.

    esspecialy the cache folder,

 

Vivado seems to some times loose track of lock files or something,

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos