cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
george7_
Visitor
Visitor
624 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2019

Simulator:861 - Failed to link the design (Linux)

Jump to solution

Hi all,

I run the 64 bit version of the ISE 14.7 WebPack on Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (64bit). 

I have tried to testbench a design but when I run the Simulator I get the following message:

ERROR:Simulator:861 - Failed to link the design

Process "Simulate Behavioral Model" failed

I searched around for a solution but I didn't come across any potential solution.

I only find solution for Windows OS.

Do you have a suggestions for Linux?

I also wanted to add that I have basic knowledge on Linux.

Thank you in advance.  

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunilku
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
559 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Hi @george7_,

 

The error that you have shared is coming in the elaboration. It may be because of the design failure of tool issue. Please share the simulation design RTL with test bench. We will try to debug from our end and update based on the debug results.

 

Thanks,

Sunilkumar

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
sunilku
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
613 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

hi @george7_,

 

Can you please share the design for further debug ???

 

Thanks,

Sunilkumar

0 Kudos
george7_
Visitor
Visitor
609 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2019

Hi Sunilkumar,

I have tested the design on a FPGA and it works at it should. The design itself works properly.

However, I wanted to testbench a different more complex design but because I did not know if this will work as this is the first time I am running Xilinx in Linux, I tried to first testbench something that works so that I will cross out problems that might arise and are not due to the design itself.

Which script do you need? The Implemental or the Simulation?

Thanks,

Georgios

 

0 Kudos
sunilku
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
560 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Hi @george7_,

 

The error that you have shared is coming in the elaboration. It may be because of the design failure of tool issue. Please share the simulation design RTL with test bench. We will try to debug from our end and update based on the debug results.

 

Thanks,

Sunilkumar

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
george7_
Visitor
Visitor
509 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2019

Hi Sunilkumar,

I have now solved the problem. 

It was a minor problem in the code which I located and corrected. 

Thank you for your time and assistance,

Georgios

0 Kudos