UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Reply

Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

Accepted Solution Solved
Highlighted
Adventurer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
Accepted Solution

Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

Hello,

 

To decrease the rather long start-up time of Simulation in Vivado I'd like to switch on incremental compile.  I'm using 2015.4 and my settings dialog box does not have an explicit option for this (see attached).  How can I do it?

 

Many thanks,

 

settings.png

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Posts: 951
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

[ Edited ]

Hi @anding

 

Incremental compile feature for simulation is there from Vivado 2017.3 version. Hence you need to move to latest version (2017.3 onwards) to avail this feature.

incremental_compile.JPG

Refer below link for more information on this:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2017_3/ug900-vivado-logic-simulation.pdf

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post


All Replies
Moderator
Posts: 2,128
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

@anding,


Check this AR: 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/57239.html

 

--Syed

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Moderator
Posts: 951
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

[ Edited ]

Hi @anding

 

Incremental compile feature for simulation is there from Vivado 2017.3 version. Hence you need to move to latest version (2017.3 onwards) to avail this feature.

incremental_compile.JPG

Refer below link for more information on this:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2017_3/ug900-vivado-logic-simulation.pdf

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adventurer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎04-04-2010

Re: Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

Thank you, thakurr.  Moving to a new Vivado is a big step and there is the possibility of encountering the recent problems that have been reported in these forums.  in your opinion, should Incremental compile make a significant difference to the simulator start up time?

 

By the way that manual has more than 200 pages!  I know the Xilinx documentation is thorough and I'm not lazy, but as my question was a simple one it seemed to make sense to come to the forums instead...

Moderator
Posts: 951
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Switching on incremental compile in Vivado 2015.4

Hi @anding

 

This option preserves the simulation files during successive run, definitely reducing the run time to significant no.'s. The feature has been added in Vivado after huge demand from the customers. 

Regards
Rohit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------