UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Scholar helmutforren
Scholar

SystemVerilog typedef struct confusion

I'm using Vivado 2017.1.

I have over 40 years programming experience, including over 25 years of object oriented programming experience.  Also, the parallel programming of FPGA's comes easy to me.

But I'm not understanding something here.  I'm getting strange behavior.  Just now, my strange behavior began to give me a clue.  I think it has to do with what's a register, what's not, and perhaps even a little misbehavior on how the SIMULATOR does things.

So perhaps you can clarify for me.

I'll write a mockup of my huge complex stuff.  NOTE I HAVE GOTTEN LOTS AND LOTS OF THIS WORKING ALREADY IN SIM, BUT WAS IT ONLY BY ACCIDENT?

typedef struct packed {
    logic control_flag; // should be 1
    logic [6:0] control_data;
} t_control_word; 

typedef struct packed {
    logic control_flag; // should be 0
logic [6:0] data;
} t_data_word;

typedef union packed {
t_control_word control_word;
t_data_word data_word;
} t_fifo_word;

interface i_fifo_din;
t_fifo_word data;
logic wr_en;
logic full;
end interface;

interface i_fifo_dout;
t_fifo_word data;
logic rd_en;
logic empty;
end interface;

// The above appears in a separate .sv, like a header file, and is used in multiple .sv code files.
// The interfaces are passed as parameters between modules
// Reducing that complexity out, below is an example of my issue

i_fifo_din fifo_din(); // Instance the interface.
i_fifo_dout fifo_dout(); // Instance the interface

// I'm leaving out the actual fifo instantiation from this example

t_data_word temporary_dw;

always @(posedge clk) begin