UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor abroban
Visitor
4,626 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Test program

Jump to solution

Hello everybody,

 

I'm starting to use VHDL and Vivado and I want to check if my code do what i want it to do.

For exemple, is there a way to check it with a truth table?

For check a Xor, nand, for exemple..

It's should be easy, but i didnt find it.

 

Best regards.

 

Andy B.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,384 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution
Hi,
If your design is so simple, you can run the behavioral simulation & try forcing the input values at the waveform level and see how your output is getting changed.
For it is a best practice to write testbench to verify your design.
Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,624 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi

 

You can write a test bench to simulate your code and compare it with the expected data output.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,623 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi

 

Check below doc

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp199.pdf

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
4,620 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution
Hello Satish and thank you,

I already saw it, but is there no easier way to test it?
I mean, I'm starting VHDL and to check some lines, I have to do all this ones?

Best regards,

Andy B.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
6,385 Views
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution
Hi,
If your design is so simple, you can run the behavioral simulation & try forcing the input values at the waveform level and see how your output is getting changed.
For it is a best practice to write testbench to verify your design.
Thanks,Vijay
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as an answer "Accept as solution" in case it helped resolve your query.
Give kudos in case a post in case it guided to the solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Historian
Historian
4,586 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

@abroban wrote:
Hello Satish and thank you,

I already saw it, but is there no easier way to test it?
I mean, I'm starting VHDL and to check some lines, I have to do all this ones?


Test benches are a necessary part of FPGA design.

 

Start learning how to do them now, while your designs are simple.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
4,561 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi all,

 

I tried to use "Run behavioral simulation", but "ERROR: [Simtcl 6-50] Simulation engine failed to start: A valid license was not found for simulation.". Nevertheless, I have the WebPACK and it allows me this.

 

Will Testbench give me a chronogram?

 

Regards,

 

Andy B.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,544 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi

 

Do you have the webpack license for vivado.

 

Does the version limit of the license file supports the vivado version you are using.

 

You can find the  version limit info from below AR

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/33770.html

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
4,530 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
4,523 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution
Hi,

Hmm, my last post is empty, dont know why.
So yes I have, but I cant put a picture apparently

Regards,

Andy B.
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,395 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

Please run this below command in TCL console of Vivado and share the output.

 

report_environment -file <directory>/xinfo.txt

0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
3,390 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi Manusha,

 

I cant share it, "Message cannot exceed 60,000 characters."

 

Regards

 

Andy B.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,383 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi

 

Did you try attaching the output file instead of copying the contents to the post.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
3,380 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi Satish,

 

Hmm, i didnt try, good idea..

 

So now there is.

 

Regards

 

Andy B.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,372 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Test program

Jump to solution

Hi

 

The license info shows that you have ISE webpack license. This will not work with vivado.

You need to generate a vivado webpack license and install it to use vivado.

 

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
3,368 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution
Hi,

But I can use Vivado actually, what's the diffrence with the license that I already have?

Regards,

Andy B.
0 Kudos
Visitor abroban
Visitor
3,360 Views
Registered: ‎03-02-2015

Re: Test program

Jump to solution
Hi,

So I search a little and I found.
So now i can use simulation, great jobs gentlemen.

Thank you so much.

Regards

Andy B.
0 Kudos