cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
365 Views
Registered: ‎03-25-2020

UNKNOWN VALUE

Hello, 

every time i try simulate something it comes to this. 
I have attached files simulation and VHDL code. 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar
357 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2014

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

@ilia-hadzhiev,

something basic.....

have you added the instiantiated modules in to the Vivado project?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FPGA enthusiast!
All PMs will be ignored
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
340 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

VHDL knows nothing about types unless you include the library for that type, your test bench uses std logic vector , but no library included


Can I suggest a good book, ( I have no connection with these people )

http://freerangefactory.org/pdf/df344hdh4h8kjfh3500ft2/free_range_vhdl.pdf

And these guys are the real experts
https://www.doulos.com/knowhow/vhdl_designers_guide/test_benches_part_1/
<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
Highlighted
320 Views
Registered: ‎03-25-2020

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

i have forgot to copy those lines with the libraries,
they are there this is not the problem.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
313 Views
Registered: ‎03-25-2020

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

to #dpaul24 i have added the component instantiation if you are talking about that. 
i decide to upload the Vivado project so you can see if you can find the problem. 

Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
312 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

If you could post your real code as an attachment then please,
saves us guessing,,
<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
305 Views
Registered: ‎03-25-2020

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

Done i have attached the Vivado project
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
264 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

You have not added your test bench to vivado,

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
256 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

http://users.wpi.edu/~rjduck/Vivado%20Simple%20VHDL%20Test%20Bench.pdf

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher
254 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: UNKNOWN VALUE

http://users.wpi.edu/~rjduck/Vivado%20Simple%20VHDL%20Test%20Bench.pdf

 

Also suggest you follow the normal convention,

 

if your test bench is testing a file called adder.vhd

   then the test bench would be called adder_tb.vhd

The entity would be called adder also 

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>