cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
beub
Observer
Observer
13,503 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

[Vivado 2014.1] Simulation does not launch

Hi everyone,

I use Vivado 2014.1 under Windows 7 64bits.

Since a Windows update this morning, I cannot simulate anymore. Everything ran just fine yesterday.

When I click the Run Behavioral Simulation, the "Simulation Running" windows pops up then instantly closes. Nothing else happens: no error or warning.

Here are some observations:

- Synthesis and Implementation run fine
- The simulation directory and files within the project's directory are well created but NO log is created
- This happens with every projects
- Launching the simulation by a TCL command does the same
- Rebooting the system does not make anything
- Re-installing Vivado does not make anything
- I have not tried yet with another version (but for project purpose, I have to use 2014.1)

It seems the Windows update has broken something.

Does anyone get the same problem ? Any idea about the cause/solution ?

Thanks by advance for the support.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
pulim
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,499 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Hi,

 

Did you see any Vivado_pidxxxx log file in vivado runs folder?

If you find any please attach it here.

0 Kudos
beub
Observer
Observer
13,494 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Hi Manusha,

 

I have looked for it and there is no such file in the project.

 

Regards,

 

Beub

0 Kudos
pulim
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,491 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Hi,

 

Can you run report_environment -file xinfo.txt command in TCL console and attach it here?

0 Kudos
beub
Observer
Observer
13,484 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Manusha,

 

I ran the command but couldn't find the generated file. It seems Vivado does not created it.

 

I ran the report_environment command only and get the result within the attached file.

 

Regards,

 

Beub

 

 

0 Kudos
pulim
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,477 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2014

Hi,

 

You can search it in currenbt working directory.

You can type pwd comamnd in the TCL console to get the current working directory.

 

I will check the attached report and will update you.

0 Kudos
beub
Observer
Observer
13,471 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Alright,

 

thanks for the tip.

 

Have you spotted something odd in the attached file ?

 

Regards

0 Kudos
debrajr
Moderator
Moderator
13,444 Views
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

The report looks clean. Would it be possible to install 2014.2 to test on your machine? Have you used Dependency Walker? It may help you tell us which .dll files got messed up by the upgrade so that we can provide a copy of the same.
Regards,
Debraj
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
debrajr
Moderator
Moderator
13,444 Views
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

For Dependency walker refer: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/256872
Regards,
Debraj
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
beub
Observer
Observer
13,437 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Hi debrajr,

 

I have installed Vivado 2014.2 and simulation launches fine.

 

I have run Dependency Walker on both 2014.1 and 2014.2 xelab.exe. Some DLL cannot be found on 2014.1, but what is strange is they cannot be found on 2014.2 as well.

 

Please find attached Dependency Walker 2014.1 xelab.exe results screenshot.

 

Regards,

 

Beub

Depends_xelab2014_1.jpg
0 Kudos
debrajr
Moderator
Moderator
8,163 Views
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

These .dll doesnt look to be the one which might cause the issue as you are saying that same result were seen in 2014.2.
Regards,
Debraj
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos