cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
thetford
Observer
Observer
13,990 Views
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

printing hardcopy from the waveform display of simulator from within vivado

Running vivado 2014.2 on win7. Have simulation running, would like to print out hardcopy of the waveform display. No apparent way to do that - no "normal" right click for that operation. But there is a file-->print menu item. When executing from there, it just prints blank pages. Anyone know how to do this?

 

-Jeff

 

Tags (2)
8 Replies
bwiec
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,988 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2011

Hey Jeff,

I have no idea if the tool can do that, but in a pinch, how about just do a screen capture and paste it into ms paint or whatever for printing?
www.xilinx.com
0 Kudos
thetford
Observer
Observer
13,951 Views
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

I got the straight answer from the webcase system. There is no way to print waveforms from the vivado simulator. They admit it is a little embarassing to have a logic analyzer that can't print it's output and they are working on it, but no word when it might be implemented. The file->print action that causes zillions of blank pages to spew out is a bug, and that option is grayed out in 2014.3.

 

To make matters worse, the setup/configuration that allows you to select background colors for the wave display is broken. There is no way to change to a non-black background, so be prepared to either do further image processing or have gallons of toner on hand if you use the snipping tool to do a screen capture.

 

sigh...

 

steve_av
Voyager
Voyager
10,564 Views
Registered: ‎10-06-2015

seems still to be broken more than two years after it was identified.  Any timeline to have this feature in the tool?

0 Kudos
bcarltontrex
Participant
Participant
6,905 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2017

Still missing in 2016.4, as of Feb 2017.

0 Kudos
bcarltontrex
Participant
Participant
6,852 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2017

And print screen isn't a good answer for waveforms that take more that one screen, Xilinx.

0 Kudos
steveren
Observer
Observer
5,252 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

And indeed in 2017.2...

 

This is absurd! I remember printing simulation waveforms from PALASM from what seems like some time around the invention of the steam engine!

0 Kudos
gary_hubbard
Visitor
Visitor
4,416 Views
Registered: ‎11-30-2017

It hasn't made it into 2017.3 either. That is pretty poor!

0 Kudos
thetford
Observer
Observer
629 Views
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

OK Xilinx, it's been SIX FREAKING YEARS since I reported this problem. I just wasted hours today trying to map a screen grab so that it doesn't have a black background and can be printed. Also, judging from this thread, I'm not the only one that is annoyed by your incredible lameness!  PLEASE WILL YOU FIX THIS!!!!!!!! What waveform display doesn't let you print it?? Incredible.

0 Kudos