Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

xsim Index out of bound

Hi there,

I've been using Vivado for VHDL development for a few years now. Right now I'm trying to simulate a piece of VHDL that includes some Xilinx IP's (DDS, clocking wizard and Cordic) I use the DDS to generate a sine/cosine, then I have a couple of MAC's to perform phase-sensitive detection on a file of generated input data, and the cordic then generates an amplitude/phase on the MAC's output. I run the simulation fine for the firs msec, but when it tries to go over the 1ms mark I get an error:

ERROR: Index 48 out of bound 0 to 8
Time: 998818750 ps Iteration: 5 Process: /TestLockIn/tip_detector_1/adc_lockin_detector/AmplitudePhase_Cordic/U0/i_synth/i_synth/gen_cordic/input_stage/gen_rotation/gen_rot_xy/gen_x_min_y/inst/i_baseblox/i_baseblox_addsub/no_pipelining/the_addsub/i_lut6/i_lut6_addsub/i_simple_model/i_no_bypass/line__3179
File: /wrk/2019.2/continuous/2019_11_06_2708876/packages/customer/vivado/data/ip/xilinx/c_addsub_v12_0/hdl/c_addsub_v12_0_vh_rfs.vhd

So, if I'm reading this correctly, the error seems to be in the Cordic IP. The c_addsub_v12_0_vh_rfs.vhd is actually encrypted, so I can't really look at what's happening inside. I guess my question is, is this actually an error on the Xilinx IP simulation, or could still be an error on my side. BTW, the synthesis and implementation work. I had been using Vivado 2016.4, but I tried 2019.2 and I get the same error.

Thanks

3 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Can you see any of the internal waveform. Without any code its going to be nearly impossible to track down an overflow during simulation.

Synthesis will likely work as the indexing signal will just be a 4 bit signal (0 to 8 need 4 bits) and can just overflow as needed.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar