UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer thedestroyer
Observer

ADC on Spartan 3AN Starter Kit with VHDL

Hello guys :),

I'm a beginner with VHDL, and am trying to run the ADC in Spartan 3AN starter kit. I'm using page 71 in the guide:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/ug334.pdf

I'm using 2 state machines. One to control the ADC, and the other to control the amplifier.

The code took me a few days to write. I think there are many technical errors in the code, but I can't find them. I would appreciate it a lot if you could take a look at the code and tell me whether the code is good enough and complies to the instructions written in the guide.

The program is supposed to take the analog signal and show on the vector BarOut a bar graph for the output.

I'm using a 50 MHz oscillator.

The code is showing warnings that I can't understand. Like: 

WARNING:Xst:1710 - FF/Latch <BarOut_0> (without init value) has a constant value of 0 in block <ADCModule>. This FF/Latch will be trimmed during the optimization process.

while BarOut is totally dependent on the analog input! and other warnings like:

WARNING:Xst:1710 - FF/Latch <BarOut_0> (without init value) has a constant value of 0 in block <ADCModule>. This FF/Latch will be trimmed during the optimization process.

WARNING:Xst:2677 - Node <dataBuffer1_VAR_0> of sequential type is unconnected in block <ADCModule>.

WARNING:Xst:2677 - Node <dataBuffer1_VAR_3> of sequential type is unconnected in block <ADCModule>.

WARNING:Xst:2677 - Node <dataBuffer1_VAR_1> of sequential type is unconnected in block <ADCModule>.