Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

BUFPLL warning at >400 MHz clk freq

Hello-

Another FPGA newbie here.  I'm using an SP605 board, and when I use the Clocking Wizard to multiply the on-board 200 MHz clock to frequencies >400 MHz, I get the warning that this multiplied clock must drive a BUFPLL.  However, if I just ignore the warning and run the hardware with a 600 MHz clk, everything works OK (correct output is relayed via serial port...and monitoring some signals with an o-scope gives correct results as well). 

I'm sure there are dangers in doing this, despite the initially promising results.  What are they?  Any workarounds?

More specifically, I know the global clk routing network for Spartan 6 is only spec'd to 400 MHz, and the higher clock speeds are for IO resources via the BUFPLL.  Does this mean my synthesized 600 MHz clock isn't being routed via the dedicated global clock network? 

Thanks for any help!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Re: BUFPLL warning at >400 MHz clk freq

c,

As with any silicon device, it probably will work at higher speeds, lower voltages, and higher temperatures than specified:  that is nothing new at all.  We design in margin in order to meet all requirements at the worst case process corner, voltage, and temperature.  If you are not at the worst case process (because the chip you have is typivcal process corner), or the operating temperature is less than the worst case, or the supply voltage is right at the specification, you may expect the device to perform better than specified.

The specifications tell you where we tested, and characterized it, and what Xilinx guarantees ("Recommended Operating Specifications").

Going faster, etc., is something you may choose to do (for fun or profit) but it is entirely up to you to solve any problems (expect no support or help from Xilinx).