UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor marcus10110
Visitor

DCM Feedback path for design with BUFIO2 & ISERDES2 (Spartan6)

Hi,

This question is about how to decide which components to put into the feedback path of a DCM. This is internally routed.

However I would also like feedback on the overall clock design in this application, as I'm very new to advanced DCM usage, and related clock domains and related clock crossing (TO/FROM constraints)

I am nearing the finish mark with my FPGA design, but I recently had to change the clock design to eliminate extra FIFOs and get the design to fit into the LX16.

My design receives it's clock from a ADC, which is outputting a 120 MHz clock, which it uses to output 8 ADC channels (DDR).

I need to receive this clock in the FPGA, and use it to drive 9 ISERDES2 inputs. I need to use the same clock as the source for my main system clock.

The overall clock topology is pretty simple:

120 MHz differential clock enters FPGA.

120 differential clock to IBUFGDS

IBUFGDS to two BUFIO2s (for DDR ISERDES2)

BUFIO2(1) uses the doubler, and set with divide = 6.

BUFIO2(2) does not use doubler, and is inverted.

both BUFIO2s have their IOCLK connected to my ISERDES modules, and the first BUFIO2 drives the SERDESSTROBE. This is textbook ISERDES2 using BUFIO2 in DDR mode, and all the pins are in the same half bank. So far so good.

BUFIO2(1) DIVCLK drives a BUFG, and this new clock drives the CLKDIV inputs on the ISERDES2 modules, which are in NETWORKING_PIPELINED mode. This clock also drives my bitslip state machine.