Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nkiguta
Visitor
Visitor

DDR Ram on Spartan 3E

Hi all,

Disclaimer: Please bear with me as I am new to this.I have also scoured the net (this forum included) and have not found a solution to the problems I'm having.

I have a s3e kit  with 64MB DDR ram (xc3s500e fg320 -4) and I would like to use this ram. I am running ISE Webpack 10.1 (and given the connection I have at the moment - its impossible to download a newer version) and MIG version 2.1. I have generated about 21 different designs with MIG but none of them are working (the past 2-1/2 weeks). I have tried the reference board designs and those haven't worked either. Let me clarify: The reference design also includes a bit file. This does not work on my board (none of the led's are on). So I changed a few settings in the UCF file (e.g setting the clock to LOC C9 etc) and ran the ise_flow batch script and I seem to get a lot of constraint errors. I've tried the cleanup project option from ISE but still, doesnt work.

I tried the new design option from MIG and selected banks 0 and 3 to generate the design (also tried 2 and 3). Incidentally, after cleaning up the generated code a little bit (removing sys_clkb, changing cntrl0_rst_dqs_div_in/out to just cntrl0_rst_dqs_div, reset = active high etc) this option does not give me the errors and I am actually able to generate a bit file.Trace reports the best I can run the design is 78MHz (which I'm assuming Im not running at considering this is the best I can do given the design - I dont know for sure though). Plus, I think the minimum I can run the SDRAM is 77MHz.