UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer urodacus
Observer

Generating a clock - SPI communication

Hello,

I'm quite new at this and I had some questions.

For a project, i'm linking a Spartan 6 (SPI master) to another board (SPI slave).

I guess I'll have to code how to manage MISO, MOSI and CS but I don't know how I'll handle the clock.

Should i use a quartz (oscillator) or can the FPGA "make" the clock at a desired frequency?

Thanks for the help,

Uro.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Generating a clock - SPI communication

I have provided a PicoBlaze reference design that can access an SPI Flash device. In this case PicoBlaze generates clock pulses as and when they are required. Whether you just refer to the documentation and source code with all its comments to find out how SPI works or adopt PicoBlaze to implement the SPI Master signalling and slave protocol that you need (all in less than 30 Slices) I hope you find it a useful reference.

https://www.xilinx.com/products/intellectual-property/picoblaze.html

See 'design Files' tab and download the 'KCPSM6' package. In the zip file you will find a 'Reference Designs' folder and your initial interest will be the design in the 'SPI' folder.

Ken Chapman
Principal Engineer, Xilinx UK
0 Kudos
Scholar u4223374
Scholar

@urodacus The FPGA can't generate clocks without a reference. Virtually any FPGA board you can find will have an oscillator already installed to provide a clock source.

Once you've got access to one clock, the FPGA clock management system can generate new clocks derived from that one at whatever frequency you want.

0 Kudos
Observer urodacus
Observer