UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor dcm_lab
Visitor

Generating desired clock frequency in spartan-6 FPGA in Mojo V3

I am new to FPGA and Mojo. What I am trying to do is generate a 20 MHz clock frequency from mojo and output it through an I/O pin and feed that signal to a function generator. I went through Spartan-6 documentation on clocking, but I guess that was a bit heavy. Are there any other resources online on how to do it? What is the best way to do that?

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
8 Replies

Re: Generating desired clock frequency in spartan-6 FPGA in Mojo V3

Let's start with two important questions.

1. What clocks are going into your FPGA?

2. What kind of signal does your function generator require?  What voltage level?  How is it terminated (50 ohms or high impedance)?

0 Kudos
Visitor dcm_lab
Visitor

Hi,

1. The default clock is 50 MHz, but I am currently using a 150 MHz clock from FPGA for my project.

2. I need a pulse from my signal generator. I normally work around 3V -3.5V, and it is terminated by 50 Ohms impedance.

0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

By going though your initial post for generation of 20 MHz signal, use a clocking wizard IP in the Tool. Generate the 20 MHz. This signal can be send through IO.  I did not understand the second post, you need to receive a pulse?

Following screen shot may help you.

1.png
2.png
0 Kudos
Visitor dcm_lab
Visitor

Hi,

Thank you for the screenshot. I need square pulses from the function generator.

I am using Coregen from Mojo's IDE, which I think is pretty much the same things as the one in ISE.