UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor
9,172 Views
Registered: ‎12-16-2009

How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Does anyone have the experience with MultiBoot on Spartan-6

where the MicroBlaze receives a bit file from a remote location

and has to program its own SPI ? The golden version is programmed

into the SPI at the factory but new versions are programmed into

the SPI in the field (whithout iMPACT) just the built in MicroBlaze.

 

Thanks,

Jacob

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,441 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2007

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Several of the important concepts can be leveraged from here:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1020.pdf (Post-Configuration Access to SPI Flash Memory with Virtex-5 FPGAs)
 [note that S6 has its own primitive STARTUP_SPARTAN6 described in its Library Guide]

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/sp601/reference_designs.htm
http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/sp605/reference_designs.htm

 [see the multi-boot designs]

 

bt

 

Tags (1)
7 Replies
Historian
Historian
9,164 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

jacob.guttman wrote:

Does anyone have the experience with MultiBoot on Spartan-6

where the MicroBlaze receives a bit file from a remote location

and has to program its own SPI ? The golden version is programmed

into the SPI at the factory but new versions are programmed into

the SPI in the field (whithout iMPACT) just the built in MicroBlaze.

 

Thanks,

Jacob


SPI is an interface, not a device.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,442 Views
Registered: ‎08-13-2007

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Several of the important concepts can be leveraged from here:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1020.pdf (Post-Configuration Access to SPI Flash Memory with Virtex-5 FPGAs)
 [note that S6 has its own primitive STARTUP_SPARTAN6 described in its Library Guide]

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/sp601/reference_designs.htm
http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/sp605/reference_designs.htm

 [see the multi-boot designs]

 

bt

 

Tags (1)
Explorer
Explorer
9,150 Views
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

The basic principle is very easy: make sure your board allows to access the SPI flash from the FPGA. For Spartan-3 the SPI interface pins can become regular pins after configuration so that's easy (don't know about Spartan-6). Add a SPI master to your microblaze design. Use something like promgen to convert the bitfile in an easy format such as hex and push that to the FPGA for programming in the flash. You just need a few simple SPI flash command such as erase, sector erase, bulk write and bulk read.

 

Cheers,

Johan

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
9,136 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Avnet has a reference design for the 1800A board based on EDK 9.2 that does exactly this.  The new bitstream comes over ethernet, but it could easily be any other communication link to which the FPGA has access.

 

www.em.avnet.com/spartan3a-dsp --> Support Files & Downloads --> > S3A1800DSP Serial Flash Bistream Update over Ethernet

 

I'm currently working on updating this to 11.4 as the SPI peripheral drivers have changed since 9.2.  Hope to have something new posted within a couple weeks.

 

Bryan

Tags (1)
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,771 Views
Registered: ‎11-12-2008

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Hi Bryan,

 

This design is exactly what I need, but I need it to work with 12.3 and the current driverset that SDK generates.  DId you have time to update your design to 12.3 (or 11.4) ?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Steven

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
7,730 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

I did update this design to 11.4, although I didn't use SDK.  It's listed at the same location given above, but look under  ISE Design Suite 11.4.

 

Bryan

Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,698 Views
Registered: ‎11-12-2008

Re: How do I get MicroBlaze to program it's own SPI?

Jump to solution

Thanks Bryan,

 

I will take a look at it.

 

Best regards,

 

Steven

0 Kudos