cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
7,849 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2008

How to add XtremeDSP DSP48A IP into my project based on Spartan-3A????

       Hello, I made a new project based on spartan-3A FPGA, and I needed to add XtremeDSP DSP48A IP into my project. But I can't find the IP in core generator (my version is ISE10.1). Then I download the ISE11.5, I just found the  DSP48 macro IP which I could use in spartan-3A FPGA.

       I want to know whether there was the  XtremeDSP DSP48A IP for our users? Where should I find it and how to use it?

       Hope for your help!!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,828 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

DSP48A is a primitive that you can directly instantiate in your code. Please check http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx11/spartan3a_hdl.pdf for the instantiation template.

 

DSP48 macro  in Core Generator abstracts configuration of DSP48 primitives and will instantiate the underlying primitive for the selected device (i.e. for Spartan3A, DSP48 Macro will use DSP48A). It covers most of use cases of DSP48 primitives. 

 

 

Cheers,
Jim
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
7,820 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2008

        Hello, when I write "DSP48" in ISE 10.1, it changed its colour from black to orange, which means the DSP48 is primitive. But when I write "DSP48A", it's still black. I don't know why.

        Then I setup ISE 11.5 on another PC, when I write "DSP48A", it changed its colour from black to orange. Could you help me explain this problem??

        Thanks!!!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
7,815 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

 


@ztr1918294 wrote:

        Hello, when I write "DSP48" in ISE 10.1, it changed its colour from black to orange, which means the DSP48 is primitive. But when I write "DSP48A", it's still black. I don't know why.

        Then I setup ISE 11.5 on another PC, when I write "DSP48A", it changed its colour from black to orange. Could you help me explain this problem??

        Thanks!!!


 

The DSP48 primitive is available in certain Xilinx FPGAs. The DSP48A is a newer flavor of that primitive and is available in newer Xilinx FPGA families. So the newer editor knows about the newer devices and their features, and as such highlights the newer features.

 

It is left as an exercise for the reader to RTFDS and determine which devices support which DSP48 style.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
7,803 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2008

        Hello, I don't understand what you just explained. In ISE 11.5, when I wrote "DSP48A", it was highlighted from black to orange, which didn't happe in ISE 10.1. What's the reason? Could someone help me?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
7,796 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

 


@ztr1918294 wrote:

        Hello, I don't understand what you just explained. In ISE 11.5, when I wrote "DSP48A", it was highlighted from black to orange, which didn't happe in ISE 10.1. What's the reason? Could someone help me?


 

AGAIN:

 

The 10.1 tools didn't know about devices that supported DSP48A, so this instance isn't highlighted.

The 11.5 tools DO know about DSP48A, and as such the highlighting changes.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
7,783 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2008

         Thaks for your answer. Does it mean I only could use DSP48A primitive in ISE 11.5? Is there any way or good solution for me to make use of the DSP48A primitive in ISE 10.1?

         Hope for your answer, please!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Historian
Historian
7,771 Views
Registered: ‎02-25-2008

 


@ztr1918294 wrote:

         Thaks for your answer. Does it mean I only could use DSP48A primitive in ISE 11.5? Is there any way or good solution for me to make use of the DSP48A primitive in ISE 10.1?

         Hope for your answer, please!


It means: read the data sheet for the specific device you are using, and see if it supports the DSP48A primitive. Then read the fine manual for the synthesis tool to see if it supports the DSP48A.

 

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,766 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Please don't get too tied up with the coloring of DSP48A in the ISE 10.1 editor. It simply means that the keyword "DSP48A" is not in the keyword list used by ISE 10.1 editor for color-highlighting. As long as you instantiate DSP48A in a Spartan3A DSP device, your design will pass implementation (Translate, MAP, Place&Route, etc) just OK in ISE 10.1.

 

 


@ztr1918294 wrote:

         Thaks for your answer. Does it mean I only could use DSP48A primitive in ISE 11.5? Is there any way or good solution for me to make use of the DSP48A primitive in ISE 10.1?

         Hope for your answer, please!


 

Cheers,
Jim
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
7,757 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2008

             Really? I'll have a try. Thanks very much! But another question, if I can truely use DSP48A in ISE 10.1, why xilinx doesn't make the "DSP48A" to be the keyword used by ISE 10.1 editor for color-highlighting? It makes some mistakes with the DSP48A primitive for some users like me.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
2,637 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

> Really? I'll have a try.

 

Yes, it will work in 10.1.

 

> But another question, if I can truely use DSP48A in ISE 10.1, why xilinx doesn't make the "DSP48A" to be the keyword used by ISE 10.1 editor for color-highlighting?

 

No reason. It's a bug.

Cheers,
Jim
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
2,629 Views
Registered: ‎11-08-2008

              I have used DSP48A in ISE 10.1, it worked very well, thanks very much! All of you are very kind! Thanks again!!

0 Kudos