Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Interfacing with custom ASIC assistance

Jump to solution

Hi guys,

I am currently working on a project that requires me to generate some control signals to a custom ASIC. I am new to the FPGA world and I have some really straightforward questions, and would be glad if you could help me out.

First, is there a way to have the power banks low reference voltage to a level different than ground? For instance, I want to have a bank that goes from 0 to 1.2V and another one that would have a low reference at 1.2V and go all the way to 2.4V (or near values).

Second, is there any place where I can find the DC characteristics of the IO standards? I need to make sure the FPGA's outputs stay in a range that won't damage the ASIC chip.

I know this is not really Spartan related but I decided to pick that one to get started with this kind of concepts since this family seems to be simpler. So if there is any other alternatives that are unrelated to the Spartan family I would help me as well.

Best

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Re: Interfacing with custom ASIC assistance

Jump to solution

1) I think what you need is a DAC.

3) To me it doesn't make sense to do manual soldering while you are working on an ASIC. How much do you value your time? One can get laser stencils for around a $100. If you really need a custom board (ie one with an extension bus is not enough) I'd design it, get it manufactured and assembled professionally. In the end, you would be saving time (and some money too probably).

- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Highlighted
Teacher
Teacher

Jump to solution