UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor ksharma
Visitor

Multiple domains on the FPGA - Switch between the two using a control bit...

Hi,

I am new to the FPGA world. I am trying to build a code using Spartan 6 device. My requirement is to be able to switch my ios from 3.3V to 1.5V as and when required(manually). Is there a way in FPGA to do this? I dont want to burn an image on the device every time I do this. My intention is to have a control bit that I can change to let the FPGA know the voltage domain....

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Scholar austin
Scholar

Re: Multiple domains on the FPGA - Switch between the two using a control bit...

ks,

The Vccio voltage may be changed externally (a programmable power supply).

Inside tyhe FPGA, the IOB drive level will now be from the new supply.  If you select a LVCMOS 3.3v 12 mA IO standard, at a lower voltage, the minimum current drive will no longer be 12 mA, but it will still be functioning, at perhaps half that value (6 mA) or so.

No change to the bitstream is required:  just an underwstanding that the output will be weaker at a lower voltage that it would be at a higher voltage (or, the reverse:  stronger at a higher voltage than at a lower voltage).

Austin Lesea
Principal Engineer
Xilinx San Jose
0 Kudos
Instructor
Instructor

Re: Multiple domains on the FPGA - Switch between the two using a control bit...

There will also be slower timing at lower Vcco voltage due to the reduced drive strength.  One

problem is that the tools won't know that you have switched Vcco to 1.5V and so the clock

to output numbers in the timing report will not show you the actual worst case under these