cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Not able to use Spartan 3e DAC

Hi,

I am new to SPI DAC so am posting for geting a solution to my problem. I am implementing a 4-PAM generation using FPGA. The flow is as follows. I already generated 4-PAM using a parallel DAC in my hardware however I am also trying to prototype my design in FPGA. THe design is as follows. First using series of flipflops and xor gates I generated PRBS data. The unit clock delayed data and the original data is to go to DAC. Now here we have a 2 bit DAC which can be easily implemented in a parallel DAC however to convert this to serial is one problem. 2nd is how do I configure the DAC to its working state. Please help me get the result of DAC.

I am posting the waveforms expected out of DAC and the inputs going to DAC.

Regards

wavfrm3.png
0 Kudos
4 Replies
chapman
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

I don't know if you are using a Spartan-3E Starter Kit but even if you are not you might find this reference design and its documentation of some use...

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/s3estarter/reference_designs.htm

PicoBlaze Processor D/A Converter Controller
Demonstrates the Linear Technology LTC2624 digital-to-analog (D/A) converter. The SPI-based communication to the D/A controller is performed using the PicoBlaze processor controller.

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/s3estarter/files/s3esk_picoblaze_dac_control.pdf

http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards/s3estarter/files/s3esk_picoblaze_dac_control.zip

Ken Chapman
Principal Engineer, Xilinx UK
0 Kudos
gszakacs
Professor
Professor