UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor 40mpg1
Visitor

School project help ultrasonic rangefinder

Hello,

I am a current student learning with the Nexys 3 board. I have a MAXSONAR: Maxbotix Ultrasonic Rangefinder  (on Xilinx shop page) that hooks up to my Nexys 3 board using the PMOD slot. The sensor spec sheet says that if the RX pin is left floating or a high signal is driven to the RX pin, then it will send range data on the TX pin. My plan is below, is it sound, does it work just the way i describe below:

The pmod slot only has 6 pins, but the reference manual of the nexys 3 shows 10 pins, i don't know what the extra 4 pins are, and i dont know which pin is the RX and TX hook up to ( JA1-JA10).

Lets assume the RX pin is M10, and TX is N9, in my implementation file all i have to do is:

module test (

output wire RX,

input reg TX

assign RX = 1'b1;  // drive a high signal to the RX pin on the sensor so it will start sending range data on its TX pin

always@(TX) begin

// store the range data in some kind of register or memory for processing in this assign block

) ; end module

my UCF file will include:

NET "RX" IOSTANDARD = LVCMOS33;
NET "TX" IOSTANDARD = LVCMOS33;

NET "RX" LOC = M10;
NET "TX" LOC = N9;

is that basically all i have to do to start receiving data through the TX pin on the sensor? I dont have the board in hand ( its in class) so i want to word out my thoughts on how i think the sensor and the board operates, any suggestions / correction is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: School project help ultrasonic rangefinder

are you still stuck with this?