Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rhykie
Visitor
Visitor

Spartan 2 FPGA (xc2s100)

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm new to FPGAs (and so to the Xilinx family of FPGAs), so I am asking whether there are any built-in/pre-programmed Verilog modules or variables in Xilinx Spartan-II (XC2S100) FPGA board. This is because I was doing an example of a Verilog code designed for a partan-II FPGA and I came across some module instantiations of the modules which were not in the code, such as IBUF, CLKDLL and BUFG. Their syntax were highlighted, and I was not sure whether they are built-in in Verilog or in the FPGA board for I/O ports.

Cheers

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
gszakacs
Instructor
Instructor

These are not "board defined" but rather primitive structures of the FPGA.  You can find

a description in the Libraries Guide, which is part of the software manuals for your

version of ISE.  If you are using a more recent version of ISE, then the guides are

available from the ISE Navigator in the Help menu under "Software Manuals" or

"Online Documentation"

HTH,

Gabor

-- Gabor

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
gszakacs
Instructor
Instructor

These are not "board defined" but rather primitive structures of the FPGA.  You can find

a description in the Libraries Guide, which is part of the software manuals for your

version of ISE.  If you are using a more recent version of ISE, then the guides are

available from the ISE Navigator in the Help menu under "Software Manuals" or

"Online Documentation"

HTH,

Gabor

-- Gabor

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
eteam00
Professor
Professor

If you are using a more recent version of ISE, then the guides are available from the ISE Navigator in the Help menu under "Software Manuals" or "Online Documentation"

Warning, the most recent versions of ISE do not support the Spartan 2 family, but Spartan 3 and later are supported.  I believe ISE 10 was the latest version to support Spartan II (2).