UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor diego.gs
Visitor
1,323 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018

Spartan6 UG380 v2.10: resistor values in W!

Jump to solution

Hi, I just downloaded Spartan6 UG380 v2.10 and I noticed that resistor values in figure 2-12 (page 42 of PDF) are in Watts, but they should really be in Ohms!

In revision v2.5, which I found in our company archives, this error was not present.

This error may be present in other figures, I didn't check.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Moderator
Moderator
1,829 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

Re: I don't want to live with this annoyance. Not for a Xilin...

Jump to solution
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
1,304 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Spartan6 UG380 v2.10: resistor values in W!

Jump to solution

Its an OLD OLD Problem,

 

Type setters have problems with the Latin Ohms,

 

and print it as W....

 

Don't ask me why, but you will see it every where around the world,

   I just live with its annoyance.

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Scholar u4223374
Scholar
1,302 Views
Registered: ‎04-26-2015

Re: Spartan6 UG380 v2.10: resistor values in W!

Jump to solution

Good catch! It does seem unlikely that Xilinx has installed 4.7kW resistors to pull-up INIT_B and PROGRAM_B.

 

My guess is that someone's updated this to the latest formatting, and in the process they've gone from Ω (capital omega, symbol for ohms) to ω (lower-case omega) to w (which looks a lot like lower-case omega) to W (when they converted units back to capitals).

0 Kudos
1,300 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2017

Re: Spartan6 UG380 v2.10: resistor values in W!

Jump to solution

What!  You mean I don't need to find board space for a 4.7 kW resistor?

0 Kudos
Visitor diego.gs
Visitor
1,258 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018

I don't want to live with this annoyance. Not for a Xilin...

Jump to solution

I don't want to live with this annoyance.

Not for a Xilinx device.

 

I would like to report this to someone at Xilinx, do someone know where to send such a report? TI has a form for reporting documentation issues...

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
1,830 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

Re: I don't want to live with this annoyance. Not for a Xilin...

Jump to solution
0 Kudos
Visitor diego.gs
Visitor
1,250 Views
Registered: ‎05-09-2018

Done. Thank you !

Jump to solution

Done.

Thank you @kkn !

 

I hope a v2.11 with this problem fixed will be created soon

0 Kudos