UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor bcfehrman
Visitor

Starting with vision on Spartan 3 series

Hello everybody,

I am a graduate student working in the computer vision field. I understand a lot about computer vision algorithms and programming but I am unfortunately not as savvy when it comes to the hardware side of things. I am taking a class in which they want to use Spartan 3e boards in order to learn Verilog. I have messed around with FPGA's via LabVIEW but not with anything like verilog so I am a little familiar with FPGAs themselves and I am very interested in trying to apply it towards a computer vision problem for my thesis that is unrelated to what we are working on in class.

So I have a few things that I need to figure out. The first is what kind of camera would be easiest to interface with a board similar to the Spartan 3e starter board? I just need low resolution for now so 640x480 or something around there would be fine. Black and white is also fine for now but color would be nice at some point (I realize that adds a substantial amount more complexity to getting the video). I don't need a specific model or anything but just some of the genreral qualities to look for such as interface, internal processing, etc.

Then, once a camera is picked out where should I look for information on how to get started on getting images from the camera? I'm not looking for someone to lay out all of the code for me but just point me in the right direction is all. I am very proficient at coding so if I know just the general idea of what needs to happen (especially what hardware should be involved) then I can probably figure out the rest.