UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor m.rescati
Visitor

UCF clock frequencies

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm new to fpga world. I spent some time trying to reduce the clock frequencies of my fpga a spartan 6 xc6slx45fgg484-2. I put in the ucf contraints file this lines:

Net "clk_out" LOC="Y11";

NET "clk_out" TNM_NET = "clk_out";

TIMESPEC "TS_clk_out"= PERIOD "clk_out" 40 ns;

if i cut the first line the clock totally disappear and the fpga simply don't give out any output. if i leave the first line he simply put out the default clock (50 MHz for Y11 and 100 for AB13).

I tried to use clock wizards and read all the forums e some guide on the internet but the results are always the same.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Re: UCF clock frequencies

Jump to solution

Hi @m.rescati,

Do you mean changing the clock period in 3rd line not helping?

If you change the clock period then frequency for which design will be analysed will change but on board the freauency is same as the oscillator frequency.

Thanks,
Arpan

Thanks,
Arpan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
12 Replies

Jump to solution

Hi @m.rescati,

Do you mean changing the clock period in 3rd line not helping?

If you change the clock period then frequency for which design will be analysed will change but on board the freauency is same as the oscillator frequency.