UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Place-Error:1205, 1136, 1654 while using Clock Wizard generating PLL-Clock

Hello everyone,

i’m new in the FPGA-Word and quite overwhelmed by the lack of good explanations hiding in a mountain of "information". So I hope someone can help me with my problem.

I want to generate a clock (e.g.. 200 MHz) from a 100 MHz Clock-input using the FPGAs internal clock generating functions. In my understanding by using the Clock Wizard a VHDL-Code should be generated that builds an instance of a PLL generating the needed clock signals.

Is this assumption correct?

While using the Clock Wizard i successfully synthesized the generated code and used PlanAhead to route the input and output signal (to measure the generated signal at an output IO). The "Implement Design"-Function produces 3 Errors, which are my problem: Place 1205, Place 1136 and Pack 1654.

Can you tell me why the ClockWizard produces faulty code and what I could change to be able to generate and output a certain clock?

Thank for your help!!

Here is the original Error-Message:

ERROR:Place:1205 - This design contains a global buffer instance, <clkout1_buf>,
   driving the net, <CLK_OUT1_OBUF>, that is driving the following (first 30)
   non-clock load pins off chip.
   < PIN: CLK_OUT1.O; >
   This design practice, in Spartan-6, can lead to an unroutable situation due
   to limitations in the global routing. If the design does route there may be
   excessive delay or skew on this net. It is recommended to use a Clock
   Forwarding technique to create a reliable and repeatable low skew solution: