UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor esoud@
Visitor

"Delay is ignored for synthesis"

I'm a beginner in Verilog and my lab project is to turn on LED lights on the FPGA board in a sequential manner. I made the typical FSM and conducted a for loop in each state however I tried making a delay in between each LED output. For some reason after synthesis the delay is ignored therefore meaning that if I were to simulate this on the FPGA board all LED lights  would output at the same time.

lightfader.PNG

lightfader1.PNG

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar drjohnsmith
Scholar

Re: "Delay is ignored for synthesis"

remember , your designing silicon circuits ,
how would you expect the fpga to implement the #7 delay
can you draw the circuit of that ?
Scholar u4223374
Scholar

esoud@  To expand on what @drjohnsmith has said...

The FPGA has no concept of time. To do timing accurately, you need some sort of oscillator - which tends to be incompatible with the sort of manufacturing process used on FPGAs. The Xilinx ones do include an internal clock source to be used during configuration, but it's not very accurate at all and it's not really meant to be used for your own code. You can also build an oscillator in the FPGA fabric, but this is both inaccurate and device-dependant (ie two "identical" chips may generate quite different frequencies).