UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
848 Views
Registered: ‎06-30-2017

AR# 64449 on Multiplication of generated code (Matlab HDL Coder)

Jump to solution

Hello,

 

we are working on a project where parts of the hdl code are generated by Matlab HDL Coder. This worked fine till know.

 

Since the last change in the Matlab generated code we get the error described in AR# 64449(https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/64449.html):

 

ERROR: [DRC 23-20] Rule violation (DSPS-1) Invalid PCIN Connection for OPMODE value - DSP48E1 instance system_i/isabella_genhdl_wrapper_DC_0/.../u_Lowpass/Product1_mul_temp__0 has OPMODE[5:4] set to 01 which uses the input of the PCIN bus for its computation, however the PCIN input is not properly connected to another DSP48E1 Block.  Please either correct the connectivity or OPMODE value to allow for proper implementation.



The error arises on two multiplier. The code line which is causing the problem looks like the following:

 

wc_signed <= signed(wc);   

Product1_cast <= signed(resize(dT_unsigned, 33));  
Product1_mul_temp <= Product1_cast * wc_signed;

The two errors are present on two instances of the same object. But this object is instantiated more often.

 

As far I understood the solution in AR# 64449 the solution can be applied when we instantiating the DSP slice by hand in the code. In our case, it is instantiated by the implementation tool.

 

How can I solve the problem?

Regards, Stephan

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
631 Views
Registered: ‎06-30-2017

Re: AR# 64449 on Multiplication of generated code (Matlab HDL Coder)

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

thank you for your replay!

 

We are currently using Matlab 2015B in combination with vivado 2016.3.

 

The code abrove was placed in an enabled subsystem. By changing the enable signal we could get rid of the problem.

 

We will try the tcl script when we run into the problem again. 

 

Regards, Stephan

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Observer noamlevine
Observer
663 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: AR# 64449 on Multiplication of generated code (Matlab HDL Coder)

Jump to solution

Which MATLAB release are you using?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
657 Views
Registered: ‎11-04-2010

Re: AR# 64449 on Multiplication of generated code (Matlab HDL Coder)

Jump to solution

Hi, @stephan_hochmueller ,

Before write_bitstream, you can try to run the attached tcl script.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
632 Views
Registered: ‎06-30-2017

Re: AR# 64449 on Multiplication of generated code (Matlab HDL Coder)

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

thank you for your replay!

 

We are currently using Matlab 2015B in combination with vivado 2016.3.

 

The code abrove was placed in an enabled subsystem. By changing the enable signal we could get rid of the problem.

 

We will try the tcl script when we run into the problem again. 

 

Regards, Stephan

0 Kudos