Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
flatmush
Visitor
Visitor

Fatal error concerning bit array access

Jump to solution

I'm getting the following error when I try to synthesize the code below using XST:
FATAL_ERROR:Xst:Portability/export/Port_Main.h:143:1.17 - This application has discovered an exceptional condition from which it cannot recover.  Process will terminate. For technical support on this issue, please open a WebCase with this project attached at http://www.xilinx.com/support.

If I comment out the lines where the pDither arrays are accessed, then it compiles fine but that's probably due to the fact that it optimizes out the rams that I'm assuming it's having trouble infering. I changed the XST settings to do with infering rams but that didn't solve the issue, so now I'm completely lost.

I'm relatively new to verilog having been converted to it due solely to the fact that the schematic editor is so unbelievably buggy only to find that the verilog synthesis tools are equally buggy.
It seems that I spend more time fighting with the xilinx tools than actually working.

module vga_dither_spatial(iClk, iRed, iGreen, iBlue, iDither, iHSync, iVSync, oRed, oGreen, oBlue, oHSync, oVSync);

input iClk;
    input [7:0] iRed;
    input [7:0] iGreen;
    input [7:0] iBlue;
    input [3:0] iDither;
    input iHSync;
    input iVSync;
    output [4:0] oRed;
    output [4:0] oGreen;
    output [3:0] oBlue;
    output oHSync;
    output oVSync;

reg [4:0] oRed;
    reg [4:0] oGreen;
    reg [3:0] oBlue;
    reg oHSync;
    reg oVSync;

reg pDitherRed[63:0];
    reg pDitherGreen[63:0];
    reg pDitherBlue[255:0];

initial begin
    $readmemb("c:/verilog/vga_dither_spatial_red.bin", pDitherRed);
    $readmemb("c:/verilog/vga_dither_spatial_green.bin", pDitherGreen);
    $readmemb("c:/verilog/vga_dither_spatial_blue.bin", pDitherBlue);
end

always @ (posedge iClk) begin
    oRed   <= iRed[7:3] + pDitherRed[{iRed[2:0], iDither[2:0]}];