cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor

Having trouble initialising RAM from file (VHDL)

Hi, I am having trouble initialising the contents of RAM from a file. I am targeting a XC7A35TICSG324-1L FPGA (on the Digilent Arty A7 board). I am not an FPGA expert, so the issue could be something silly I am doing or my own misunderstanding. I would greatly appreciate any help to get this working!

I have a text file that stores the data. Each bit is separated by a space, and each new vector is on a new line. For example, the text file sort of looks like this:

1 1 1 1
1 0 0 1
1 0 0 1

which would correspond to "1111", "1001" then "1001" initialised in RAM. 

The VHDL that I have written is based off the example given in the Synthesis user guide (UG901)  in Chapter 4 HDL Coding Techniques : Initializing RAM Contents. I have reproduced my VHDL below: 

type rom_t is array (0 to DEPTH-1) of std_logic_vector(DATA_WIDTH-1 downto 0);
impure function mem_init(file_name : string)
             return rom_t is
file fp : text open read_mode is file_name;
variable image_data : rom_t;
variable i_line : line; 
variable tmp_bit : bit;
begin
 --iterate though rows in file
 for i in 0 to DEPTH-1 loop
	readline(fp, i_line);
        --iterate though individual bits in the row
	for j in 0 to DATA_WIDTH-1 loop
		read(i_line, tmp_bit);
		image_data(i)(j) := to_stdulogic(tmp_bit);
	end loop;
 end loop;
 return image_data;
end mem_init;
signal rom : rom_t := mem_init("data.txt"); -- I use the absolute file path, just removed it here in the example 

The problem is that the memory is not being initialised after running synthesis in Vivado. The tool is (I think) initialising it as all zeros (I get the message "propagating zeros across element") and as such is trimming away the whole module. When I look at the schematic after synthesis/implementation the outputs are all simply tied together and to ground.