UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor jhinkle
Visitor

How to change a signal on two phases of the clock

Jump to solution

I'm new to verilog and FPGAs.

I have a signal I need to change on different phases of a clock.

This is just an example to ask my question

reg Sig1;

Clock B is delayed from Clock by X number of degrees (amount does not matter here)

always @ (posedge Clock_A)

Sig1 <= 1'd0;

always @ (posedge Clock_B)

Sig1 <= 1'd1;

Assign Signal_Out = Sig1;

ISE (Spartan 6 design) produces an error - "connected to following multiple drivers:"

Can someone explain how I might accomplish this.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Visitor jhinkle
Visitor

Re: How to change a signal on two phases of the clock

Jump to solution

Thanks for the help.

I revised my design so as I to require 3 clocks (same frequency - just phase shifted).

I have moved to a single clock - faster than my previous attempt at 3 clocks - and now count clock edges to get to the delay I require.

This question can be closed.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Voyager
Voyager

Jump to solution

You're supposed to assign a value to a reg in only one always block.  You're doing it in two.

It looks like you want to use an ODDR2:

-----------------------------------------------------------------

ODDR2 #(
  .DDR_ALIGNMENT("NONE"),
  .INIT(1'b0),
  .SRTYPE("SYNC")
) ODDR2_inst (
  .Q( Signal_Out ),
  .C0( Clock_A ),
  .C1( Clock_B ),
  .CE( 1'b1 ),
  .D0( 1'b0 ),
  .D1( 1'b1 ),
  .R( 1'b0 ),
  .S( 1'b0 )
);

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Check it out in the Spartan-6 FPGA SelectIO Resources User Guide (UG381).

-Joe G.

0 Kudos