UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor tobyj
Visitor
11,844 Views
Registered: ‎10-04-2010

Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

I've tried running through the in-depth tutorial and everything is fine until I double-click Synthesize - XST.

 

The Design Overview Summary shows the Implementation State as Synthesized(Failed) and No Errors (1 Warning - <preset time> is used but never assigned)

 

I've also tried opening an example and trying to synthesize those but get the same fail.

 

My final effort has been to try and synthesize the simplest counter I could find and still the same problem...

 

I've also tried different target devices in case it was something to do with me using the free ISE 12.2

 

This is my first attempt at any FPGA design so I suspect I'm doing something mightily dumb.

 

Could it be a licence problem? There isn't any text in the synthesis commentary to suggest my license is out of date -  looking on xinfo and help/manage license there seem to be a lot  - some expired some not - not entirely sure which one I should be checking.

 

Many thanks for any help....

 

Toby

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Advisor eilert
Advisor
11,837 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

Hi,

always having the same error message is unusual, but there may be a simple cause.

 

Look at the design hierarchy window. One of the files has a little triangle made out of three green squares in front of it.

This is the marker for the chosen top-level design.

And actually you can only synthesize this.

When you want to synthesize some other file you have to make it your top-level design.

You got to select it first and then either use the right-clock context menu or go to the main menu bar to make that change.

 

Hope this helped.

Have a nice synthesis

  Eilert

0 Kudos
Instructor
Instructor
11,828 Views
Registered: ‎08-14-2007

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

More likely the tool chain is doing something "mightily dumb."

 

Did you create a new project each time you tried another design or

device?  If not sometimes just going to the Project menu and

selecting "Cleanup project files" will fix the problem.  This is

often the case when you get some sort of failure without any

error messages.

 

When all else fails just try to create a new project and start from scratch.

 

HTH,

Gabor

-- Gabor
0 Kudos
Newbie therk
Newbie
5,826 Views
Registered: ‎08-11-2017

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

If you've windows 8, 8.1 or 10..this problem happens! Here is the solution for that!

 

This is solution for win8, win8.1 and win10

 

Fixing Project Navigator, iMPACT and License Manager problems:
1. Open the following directory: C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\ISE\lib\nt64
2. Find and rename libPortability.dll to libPortability.dll.orig
3. Make a copy of libPortabilityNOSH.dll (copy and paste it to the same directory) and rename it libPortability.dll
4. Copy libPortabilityNOSH.dll again, but this time navigate to C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\common\lib\nt64 and paste it there
5. In C:\Xilinx\14.7\ISE_DS\common\lib\nt64 find and rename libPortability.dll to libPortability.dll.orig
6. Rename libPortabilityNOSH.dll to libPortability.dll

 

I hope this may help you!

Newbie einar_ms
Newbie
5,660 Views
Registered: ‎08-26-2017

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

This actually worked tank you

0 Kudos
5,064 Views
Registered: ‎10-14-2017

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

Thank you, therk. It worked for me too. 

0 Kudos
3,813 Views
Registered: ‎01-29-2018

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

Thanks a lot.....! This Worked for me too !

0 Kudos
3,810 Views
Registered: ‎01-29-2018

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

This really worked !
0 Kudos
Participant skaat27
Participant
3,218 Views
Registered: ‎08-28-2017

Re: Process "Synthesize - XST" Failed - absolute newbie question

That Worked like a charm

0 Kudos