cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gherbome
Visitor
Visitor

RTL Analysis doesn't match with synthesis schematic

Hi, i'm french student and i try to program a spi component. I experience a problem. When i open the schematic of the synthesis. The schematic show something strange. I'm supposed to have 4 outputs  but on the schematic there are only one output.

You can find my code on the SPI2.zip

The aim of this project is to set register on a component maned SSD2828 in order to generate MIPI DSI signal. I'm a beginner and i really can't find my issue

Thanks you

fpga_rtl_synthesis.pngfpga_synthesis_schematic.pngfpga_simulation_spi.pnghave 

0 Kudos
11 Replies
drjohnsmith
Teacher
Teacher

There are a few bits ot get into here,

The simulation of your code, does just that , it simulates your code as written,

its up to your test bench to test the code then

Once synthesised, and then place and routed, 

your code is optimised, none used bits removed, and then the tools try to fit your design into the available logic to meet your constraints,

It similar to you write C code, and that gets optimised into ASM, using all sorts of parallel and time shift bits.

i.e. the ASM looks nothing like your C code.

The place to find errors is the simulator, not the schematic view.

once simulated Ok, then you put constraints on, 

and synthesise, 

then you look at the warnings from the synthesis to see if it went ok,

then you either dump it into the fpga, or you do a post PAR simulation,

Th eonly real use of the schematics ( IMHO ) is if your coding to get say a SLR and you look at the report file and find it has not made a SLR, 

then you can try to decipher

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
gherbome
Visitor
Visitor

Thanks you for your answers