cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Scope of TCL variables

(I've read this post: https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Vivado-TCL-Community/TCL-variable-scope-in-Vivado/m-p/752183#M5489 but it doesn't seem to directly answer my issue)

I'm new at tcl here.  I've got a file called cdc_gen_xdc.tcl that I need to source after synthesis, before implementation.  There's not much in it, just calling some other tcls.  Full contents of cdc_gen_xdc.tcl follows:

------------

source $BASE/submodules/kt_cwag_framework/syn/vivado_auto_cdc.tcl
source $BASE/submodules/kt_cwag_framework/syn/vivado_cross_clock_cdc.tcl
# Generate the Auto CDC contraints for the clock crossings
if {[llength $AUTO_CDC_CLOCKS] > 1} {
vivado_auto_cdc $AUTO_CDC_CLOCKS $AUTO_CDC_RELATED $PROJECT\_auto_cdc.xdc
source $PROJECT\_auto_cdc.xdc

vivado_cross_clock_cdc $PROJECT\_cross_clock_cdc.xdc
source $PROJECT\_cross_clock_cdc.xdc
}

-----------

I've set this to run after synth in my main tcl script (ks_launch_runs.tcl) like this:

set_property STEPS.SYNTH_DESIGN.TCL.POST $BASE/../SFM/SFM1/VirtexB/FW_SRC/cdc_gen_xdc.tcl [get_runs synth_1]

And the property is set correctly.  I can see the correct full path to the file under Run Properties.

BUT, here's the problem:  After synthesis runs, it says synthesis failed because:

ERROR: [runtcl-1] can't read "BASE": no such variable

So ks_launch_runs can see $BASE (because the full path to cdc_gen_xdc.tcl shows in the Properties), and the vivado tcl console can see $BASE (if I type "puts $BASE", I can see printed), and if I run cdc_gen_xdc.tcl manually from the tcl console, it works.  But when cdc_gen_xdc.tcl is run as a TCL.POST, it suddenly can't see $BASE (or I assume, my other variables).

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Re: Scope of TCL variables