UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor splee
Visitor

Simple code.. pls help

Hi,

I am a beginner of VHDL.

I wrote a simple code below. The compiler warns me that 'b' should be in the sensitivity list. Why is this so?

Would the synthesis be different if I include b in the sensitivity list?

entity simpleBuffer is
    Port ( a : in  STD_LOGIC;
           c : out  STD_LOGIC);
end simpleBuffer;

architecture Behavioral of simpleBuffer is
signal b    : STD_LOGIC;
begin
    process (a)
    begin
            b <= a;
            c <= b;
    end process;
end Behavioral;

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Highlighted
Historian
Historian

Re: Simple code.. pls help

@splee wrote:

Hi,

I am a beginner of VHDL.

I wrote a simple code below. The compiler warns me that 'b' should be in the sensitivity list. Why is this so?

Would the synthesis be different if I include b in the sensitivity list?

entity simpleBuffer is
    Port ( a : in  STD_LOGIC;
           c : out  STD_LOGIC);
end simpleBuffer;

signal b    : STD_LOGIC;
begin
    process (a)
    begin
            b <= a;
            c <= b;
    end process;
end Behavioral;

If you're a VHDL newbie, you should stop what you're doing and buy a copy of Ashenden's "Designer's Guide To VHDL." Everything you are asking is answered in that nice book.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
Tags (1)
Instructor
Instructor

The simple answer to the question is no, synthesis will not be different if you add b to

the sensitivity list.  On the other hand simulation may be different.  I'm not fluent enough

in VHDL to know whether the assignment "c <= b" takes the value of b before or after