Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mustafa.homsi
Observer
Observer

Size Optimized HDL Tricks/Guidlines

Hello,

Is their a book, an app note or any type of a reference that talks about various guidelines or tricks when writing HDL code to generate a small synthesized code. I am relatively new to HDL and I have recently written a code (VHDL) for a specialized PWM timer (a counter, output captures, input captures, etc.). The design works as intended but it is taking a relatively big space. Bigger than microblaze or cortex M1 (~3.5K LUTs on spartan 7). Again I am not an expert but I wouldn't think it should take that much and I am wondering if I should revisit the HDL code after reviewing any high level guidelines. Thanks!

0 Kudos
5 Replies

@mustafa.homsi 

I can’t recommend a book to you.

However, you already taken a big step towards resource-efficient coding by using VHDL instead of a higher level language like HLS.

For the tasks you describe, 3.5K LUTs seems like a lot.  However, a midsize SPARTAN-7 has about 32K LUTs.  So, you got “lots of LUTs left” - say that 3 times fast

The general advice you’ll probably get is to strive for clarity and readability rather than resource-efficiency in your VHDL coding.

Sometimes our best efforts to write resource-efficient code are foiled by synthesis, which tends to have a mind of its own.  However, we can guide synthesis by selecting from different strategies.  As described in UG901 (near Table 1-2) these strategies are usually a tradeoff between “area/resources optimized” and “performance optimized”. 

Also, if you are using Xilinx IPs, then during setup of the IP you can sometimes choose between “area/resources optimized” and “performance optimized”.