cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
spajas
Observer
Observer

Use different versions of a generic component

I'm an experienced software developer as FPGA developer but this problem I cannot (yet) solve for FPGA/VHDL. 

In SW, it is very common to use external (3rd) party libraries as source code. These libraries make possibly use of other common libraries. Depending on you SW project, it could be that component COMP is used with version A in a 3rd party source library while the same COMP component is used as version B in the main application. I.e. two versions of the same component (COMP) used in the project at different places (main application and in 3rd party source). This is a very common 'problem' as are the solutions.

This problem also exists in our FPGA projects. We develop a complex internal component (call it COMPLEX_COMP) that makes use of several company wide generic HDL components. These components have nothing to do with COMPEX_COMP and can be used in many other projects. The complex internal component (COMPLEX_COMP) is also used as a generic component in several FPGA projects (added as source to those projects).

The actual problem:

- Main project PROJECT is using version A of a generic VHDL component called COUNTER

- Main project PROJECT also makes use of the complex component COMPLEX_COMP

- Complex component COMPLEX_COMP makes use of the same generic VHDL component COUNTER but version B

How can we add both versions (A and B) of generic VHDL component COUNTER to our main project so that complex component COMPLEX_COMP uses version B and the main project uses version A?

I askes this question also in our company but there was no real solution. There was one, but I really hate it:

- Update ALL generic components (and the Project) in the project that make use of generic VDHL component COUNTER to the latest version B.