UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer

VHDL-2008 support in Vivado

Hello,

will Vivado support synthesis of designs which use VHDL-2008 language syntax?

Best regards

Martin 

0 Kudos
24 Replies
Historian
Historian

Re: VHDL-2008 support in Vivado

@stmartin81 wrote:

Hello,

will Vivado support synthesis of designs which use VHDL-2008 language syntax?

Best regards

Martin 

Wouldn't that be swell!

But don't hold your breath!

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer

Unfortunately I would be very surprised if Xilinx would offer full VHDL-2008 support. ISE for example still (and I guess will never) support the "process(all)" statement.

Does anyone know what the recommended language for programming Xilinx FPGAs is? I had a quick look at Verilog but it isn't a strongly typed language which I really dislike. Would SystemVerilog (I gues as it builds on Verilog it also isn't a strongly typed language?) and C + HSL be a safe bet?

I came to appreciate the features of the VHDL language and the 2008 standard improvements are great. What are the advantages Verilog offers to VHDL? I've come across this site:  http://www.angelfire.com/in/rajesh52/verilogvhdl.html and after  skimming through the text there doesn't seem to be any reason for me to switch to Verilog as it doesn't seem to offer any advanced features to me.

0 Kudos
Teacher rcingham
Teacher

> Does anyone know what the recommended language for programming Xilinx FPGAs is?