UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie sage12

Variable assignment inside a VHDL process in Synthesis

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in VHDL design. I have a doubt regarding different assignations to the same variable inside a process in a post-synthesized design.

For example the next code snippet:

--previous code

p1 : process (clk,reset)

variable a : std_logic;
  variable b : std_logic;

begin
  a := '1'

--some code here that modifies b variable

if ( b = '1') then
    a := '0';
  end if;

end process;

--the code goes on

Can it be assured that during execution in FPGA, if b is '1', a always will be '0'. In other words, I know that during simulation all statements inside a process are executed sequentially, but can we say the same in relation to a synthesized design? Is the execution order inside the process sequential too?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Historian
Historian

Re: Variable assignment inside a VHDL process in Synthesis

In general, if the behavior in simulation (i.e. the behavior described by the language) is deterministic, then synthesis will produce results that match the RTL description.