UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer townsend
Observer

combinational logic mux

Jump to solution

Hi, I'm new to all this and I don't see an appropriate board for my question. Since this is my first post here, I thought I'd do a quick post to the "welcome and join" board. Can someone tell me which board is most appropriate for beginner level questions? In particular, I am having trouble convincing verilog to do a combinational logic circuit on something I know can be done that way - it wants me to use a register, but I don't want clocked logic. I copied an example off the internet I found of something the author described as a combinational implementation of a multiplexer, but when I tried it verbatim, I still got the "procedural assignment to a non-register, etc." error. Before I start typing in specific verilog code to ask about, can you tell me which board should I post my querry to? Thanks!

-gt-

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Historian
Historian

Re: combinational logic mux

Jump to solution

You are probably suffering from the classic confusion between a "Verilog reg" and a "register (i.e. flip-flop)" - they are not the same thing.

A Verilog "reg" is a construct of the language - it is a "register" as in a register in any other programming language (after all Verilog is nothing more than a programming language). Like all other registers in programming languages, a register is "given a value" which it keeps until it is given a new one. It is nothing more than that. It is neither a flip-flop, a latch, nor a combinatorial element.