UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Newbie fabioacosta

externally triggered time counter in verilog

Hi I'm new to the fpga world, just got a Xilinx Spartan 3E and started playing around with it in verilog with the ISE design tools.

My frustration came when I try to use 2 external triggers to activate counters. My goal is to make a program that when given 3 posedges of a push button in a range of 5 seconds turns on a led. If the 5 seconds go and there haven't been 3 events from the push, resets and restart the process.

I tried to code this and the concept was something like this

Always@(posedge push)
**if first push then flag=1**

Always @(posedge clock)
** if flag==1 then start counter
       **check function for pushes and time reset

This had the issue that I had to change registers on both blocks so I've been told to put both processes in one block. The problem with it is that I don't see a way to make the push posedge work since the clock is always faster.

Is there a way for me to activate a clock counter after another posedge event and make it synthesizable. I know for a fact this is a possible implementation  using a counter that controls another one via reset or enable and I would just make it through schematic if it wasn't for the absurdly large counter that is needed with a 50Mhz clock.

Please help me with this and I'll be eternally grateful.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor

Re: externally triggered time counter in verilog