UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor heller390
Visitor

getting "U" in some outputs during simulation

Jump to solution

Hello I am new to Xilinx.Basically I am implementing a 1784 bit interleaver and deinterleaver using CCSDS algortihm.I want to check whether they are right.So i module instantiated both interleaver and deinterleaver files by writing a wrapper file and then gave some test input.Everything works fine except that I am getting 5 outputs as "UNINITIALIZED" out of 1784.I tried debugging but cant identify the problem.Please kindly help me solve the issue

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: getting "U" in some outputs during simulation

Jump to solution

HI @heller390

This can happen in  VHDLbehavioural simulations in genreral, if one of the drivers of the signal you are monitoring is unintialized. Please  initialize them to "Z" in your RTL.. (use  :=(others => 'Z'), if it is a bus ).

Is the post-synth simulation working fine?

Thanks
Bharath
--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided addresses your query/concern.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Jump to solution
Hi,

Are you doing behavioural simulation or post synthesis simulation? does your deisgn work in behavioural simulation?

-Shreyas
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------