Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

malformed $readmem task... why?

Jump to solution

Vivado 2016.3, SystemVerilog source.

For this test, I have an inner module and an outer module. The inner module acts like a ROM. The outer module access the ROM. The data for the ROM is in a file.

However, in order to promote unit testability on the inner module, I'm passing in the ROM's data to the inner module. I know, that's totally weird, but I'm a software engineer.

File inner.sv:

module inner(
    input clk,
    input bit[15:0] things[256],
    input bit[7:0] index,
    output bit[15:0] result
);

always_ff @(posedge clk) begin
    result <= things[index];
end

endmodule

File outer.sv:

module outer(
    input clk,
);

var bit[15:0] things[256];
initial $readmemb("things.data", things);

inner inner(
    .clk,
    .things,
    .index,
    .result
);

endmodule

I added things.data as a data file. Unfortunately, I got the dreaded "invalid memory name" which tells you only that something went wrong but not what:

WARNING: [Synth 8-2898] ignoring malformed $readmem task: invalid memory name [F:/plugh1/file_test/file_test.srcs/sources_1/new/outer.sv:8]

Sooo....

(1) What went wrong? My earlier expeditions basically blamed Vivado for not being able to recognize RAM. But this seems to be a really simple application of RAM.

(2) For testability, what would you suggest? I'm using Verilator and writing a C++ test bench, but if I hardcode the ROM in the inner module, it is no longer testable -- all I'd be testing is the production ROM data, not that the module works as intended. Again, sorry, I'm using testability best practices from the software world, and I don't know what the best practice is for this case in the FPGA world.

Project attached.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Scholar
Scholar

Re: malformed $readmem task... why?

Jump to solution