UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Contributor
Contributor

using register

Hi

I studied "UG949" and it mentioned that registers help to decrease fanout and "place and route" tools.

I investigated some Xilinx IP schematic and there were registers in input and outputs pin.

Consequently, I decided to set register in all input and output pin of components(except clock pin) in VHDL programming as a methodology.

Q1:

Is it true to set register in all input and output pin of components(except clock pin) in VHDL programming as a methodology?

Q2:

If the answer is "NO", Please, explain which pins need to be registered?

In some Xilinx documents mention that we should enable"internal pipeline registers in DSP48" or "output register for BRAM".

Q3: 

Please, explain how I can enables the registers above?

Best Regards

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Explorer
Explorer

Re: using register

Hi @dariush84

Q1: yes this is a good practise.

Q3: Two ways I can think of:

a. if you're using the IPI, you can configure the IP block (BRAM or DSP) to register the output.

b. if you're instanciating the IP in HDL code, it should be a generic parameter to set.

--Sebastien
0 Kudos
Contributor
Contributor

Hi

Can you explain about "Q1" more?

BR

0 Kudos

@dariush84

Q1: Is it true to set register in all input and output pin of components(except clock pin) in VHDL programming as a methodology?