Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joe306
Scholar
Scholar

Creating a Generated Clock SDC

Jump to solution

Hello, newbie here with how to create a Generated Clock Constraint. Here is my example:

Generated_clock.jpg

Here is the Generated Clock Window:

Generated_SDC.jpg

What do I enter in the Master Pin (Source) block? 

Would that be the I/O Port Clock_IN?

What goes in Master Clock block?

What if my Generated Clock is generated from a state machine,  what would I enter in the Derive from Source Clock Waveform? 

Thank you

Joe

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
avrumw
Guide
Guide

First, it is generally a bad idea to generate a clock with anything other than dedicated clocking resources (the MMCM/PLL and associated clock buffers) - this is not an SDC/XDC thing, but an FPGA architecture thing - take a look at this post on why fabric generated clocks are generally not the best idea.

But from an XDC/SDC point of view it is legal to define a generated clock where the clock is generated by logic (given the caveats mentioned in the post).

In most cases there is an actual cell that is doing the transformation of the clock. This cell can be

• an MMCM/PLL
    • The tools take care of automatically generating clocks on MMCM/PLL outputs - you don't need a manually generated clock
  • a gated clock buffer like a BUFGCE, BUFHCE
    • When the CE is asserted with a known pattern, the output of the BUFGCE/BUFHCE can be represented as a generated clock
    • This is a supported and recommended mechanism of generating a derived clock
  • some flip-flop
    • Again, this isn't recommended, but is legal

When you do a create_generated_clock, it is preferred to specify the Master pin (i.e. the -source option) as close to the generating cell as possible

• For a BUFGCE/BUFHCE this would be the "I" pin of the BUFGCE/BUFHCE
  • For a fabric generated clock this would be the "C" pin of the flip-flop generating the clock