Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sms1955
Visitor
Visitor

Frequency reduction from virtex 5 to virtex 6

Hi all,

I am new in VHDL programming and I hope to gain a lot from your experience.

I have a design in Virtex 5 working with maximum frequency of 220MHz. However, when I convert it to virtex 6 the frequency reduced by a huge amount and it was 30MHz only !!!!!!! Can anyone explain me why this happened.

Is it due licensing  issues or area or ..........

Please need your help ASAP

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
bassman59
Historian
Historian

@sms1955 wrote:

Hi all,

I am new in VHDL programming and I hope to gain a lot from your experience.

I have a design in Virtex 5 working with maximum frequency of 220MHz. However, when I convert it to virtex 6 the frequency reduced by a huge amount and it was 30MHz only !!!!!!! Can anyone explain me why this happened.

Is it due licensing  issues or area or ..........

Please need your help ASAP

Thank you in advance.

Did you have a timing constraint set on each version of the design?

Also, since you are new: VHDL is not a programming language. You are not programming.

----------------------------Yes, I do this for a living.
0 Kudos
sms1955
Visitor
Visitor

Thank you   for your reply and yes I kept the timimng constrain the same.

0 Kudos
avrumw
Guide
Guide

Please post the timing report from the worst failing path. With that, we may be able to tell you what to look at next.

Avrum

0 Kudos
maynard1
Visitor
Visitor

Hello there!

Well, from my humble experience I shows say that pin assignment is one the crucial art of FPGA performance. An improper pin assignment can always mess up your timing. I was working on a design that would not meet timing by no means. Changing optimization effort, place-route strategy brought be as close as 0.5ns to meeting my goal, but no success there.