cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Hold time violation around a PLL with two masters in clock that can't be run at the same time

Jump to solution

Hello ,

I'm not a expert in the subject of fixing hold time violations , so I need help .

After synthesis the timing report shows me a lot of hold time violations between two generated clocks : o_CLOCK1x and o_CLOCK1x_1 .

Hold_Results after synthese.png

After a report_clock , I found that these two clocks can't run at the same time .

o_CLOCK1x is a PLL's output when the master clock is Top_Xapp1249_inst/SDI/GTX_Rx/gtxe2_i/RXOUTCLK and o_CLOCK1x_1 is the same PLL's output when the master clock is i_ANA_CLK .

At the input of this PLL , there is a MUX_CLK between these two master clocks .

Clock_Report.png

So I try the following contraint :

set_clock_groups -physically_exclusive -group o_CLK1x_1 -group o_CLK1x 

but this contraint do not reduce the total of the number of Hold failing endpoints .

I try  the following contraints too :

set_clock_groups -name Groupe_3 -physically_exclusive -group [get_clocks Top_Xapp1249_inst/SDI/GTX_Rx/gtxe2_i/RXOUTCLK] -group [get_clocks -of_objects [get_pin TOP_HDMI_SDI_ANA_inst/GESTION_CLKs_inst/PLL_SP_inst/PLLE2_BASE_inst/CLKOUT0] -filter {IS_GENERATED && MASTER_CLOCK == i_ANA_CLK}]

set_clock_groups -name Groupe_6 -physically_exclusive -group [get_clocks i_ANA_CLK] -group [get_clocks -of_objects [get_pins TOP_HDMI_SDI_ANA_inst/GESTION_CLKs_inst/PLL_SP_inst/PLLE2_BASE_inst/CLKOUT0] -filter {IS_GENERATED && MASTER_CLOCK == Top_Xapp1249_inst/SDI/GTX_Rx/gtxe2_i/RXOUTCLK}]

but these contraints do not reduce the total of the number of Hold failing endpoints .

What is the contraint I have to write to reduce this number ?

Thanks in advance

Alex

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Participant
Participant

Hi @watari,

Thank you for your prompt reply .

I just try this following contraint :