UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer alectronic
Observer

Hold time violation around a PLL with two masters in clock that can't be run at the same time

Jump to solution

Hello ,

I'm not a expert in the subject of fixing hold time violations , so I need help .

After synthesis the timing report shows me a lot of hold time violations between two generated clocks : o_CLOCK1x and o_CLOCK1x_1 .

Hold_Results after synthese.png

After a report_clock , I found that these two clocks can't run at the same time .

o_CLOCK1x is a PLL's output when the master clock is Top_Xapp1249_inst/SDI/GTX_Rx/gtxe2_i/RXOUTCLK and o_CLOCK1x_1 is the same PLL's output when the master clock is i_ANA_CLK .

At the input of this PLL , there is a MUX_CLK between these two master clocks .

Clock_Report.png

So I try the following contraint :

set_clock_groups -physically_exclusive -group o_CLK1x_1 -group o_CLK1x 

but this contraint do not reduce the total of the number of Hold failing endpoints .

I try  the following contraints too :

set_clock_groups -name Groupe_3 -physically_exclusive -group [get_clocks Top_Xapp1249_inst/SDI/GTX_Rx/gtxe2_i/RXOUTCLK] -group [get_clocks -of_objects [get_pin TOP_HDMI_SDI_ANA_inst/GESTION_CLKs_inst/PLL_SP_inst/PLLE2_BASE_inst/CLKOUT0] -filter {IS_GENERATED && MASTER_CLOCK == i_ANA_CLK}]

set_clock_groups -name Groupe_6 -physically_exclusive -group [get_clocks i_ANA_CLK] -group [get_clocks -of_objects [get_pins TOP_HDMI_SDI_ANA_inst/GESTION_CLKs_inst/PLL_SP_inst/PLLE2_BASE_inst/CLKOUT0] -filter {IS_GENERATED && MASTER_CLOCK == Top_Xapp1249_inst/SDI/GTX_Rx/gtxe2_i/RXOUTCLK}]