Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

How to fix Intra-clock path setup timing error

Jump to solution

Hi,

I get an intra-clock path setup timing error in the following path:

Intraclock.jpg

I am not experienced with the time constraints that I can play with, so I have been playing with the Constraints Wizard and tried many constraints that I've seen in the documentation 'Vivado design suite user guide - using constraints', such as set_multicycle_path, set_max_delay.... but with no luck. If I decrease the main_clk_wiz frequency I can get rid of the timing errors, but I actually need to increase even further for my application. I do not care about the path delay, as long as the outputs of the array 'Out_regs[*]' remain synchronized, so I believe it should be possible to relax the timing constraints somehow.

Among the timing constraints I've tried is this one:

set_max_delay -from [get_pins {main_i/AXI_output_register_0/U0/AXI_output_register_v1_0_S00_AXI_inst/slot_counter_reg[1]/C}] -to [get_pins {main_i/AXI_output_register_0/U0/AXI_output_register_v1_0_S00_AXI_inst/Out_regs[*].out_reg/output_reg/D}] 2.000

but it only worsens the slack on that path. So then I tried using a negative delay -2, it did not work either. However, swapping the -to and -from pins did work.... but I'm not sure why exactly.

Is this the proper approach? perhaps adding other time constraints, changing the VHDL code, adding pipelines... might be the solution. Please help.

best regards,

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: How to fix Intra-clock path setup timing error

Jump to solution

alejandro.diaztormo@ugent.be 

It is often math operations that limit the operation frequency maximum, FMAX, of our HDL – because math operations typically produce lots of combinational logic.